Use Help Desk in Inbox to manage shared-inbox conversations. Choose Table or Preview at the upper right of the conversation area to switch layouts.
For related guidance, use Setting Up the Help Desk to connect inboxes, Overview of Shared Inboxes (Help Desk) for the workspace overview, and Understanding the Conversation List for Table and Preview layouts.
Navigating the Help Desk
Help Desk organizes shared inboxes and their folders in the Inbox sidebar.
Help Desk Menu
Shared inboxes and phone lines appear under Inboxes. To browse customer types and individual contacts, open the separate Customers tab beside Inbox.
To give the conversation area more room, hover over the right edge of the expanded sidebar and select the arrow to collapse it.
Customers
All communications (Email, SMS, Phone Calls) from contacts within the shared inboxes are grouped by the contact type and the individual contact.
Clicking on a contact will show all active communications from all of the shared inboxes related to that contact.
Drilling into a conversation, you’ll find additional details related to the contact and conversation:
View related contacts, history, and other details about the conversation.
Access the contact record to add alerts and update information.
All related locations, cards, and communications are linked to the conversation.
Conversation List
The conversation list is where you view and manage all inbox activity at a glance. At the top of the list, you’ll find tabs for Open, Closed, and Unread, making it easy to switch between open conversations, closed conversations, and unread conversations.
Just below these tabs, you can choose how conversations are sorted:
- Last Inbound – Sorts conversations based on the most recent incoming message.
- Last Activity – Sorts based on the most recent activity on the conversation, such as an internal comment or when a snoozed conversation becomes active again. When activity occurs, the conversation automatically moves to the top of your list.
Within the conversation list, select any conversation to open it in the adjacent pane, allowing you to review details and take action without leaving the inbox.
Inbox Settings
Select Settings at the bottom of the Inbox sidebar, then choose Layout to customize how your conversation list appears. From here, you can:
- Show or hide preview text for each conversation
- Enable quick action buttons that appear when you hover over a conversation
Available quick actions include Done, Snooze, Move to folder, and Delete. Enable the controls you want to use directly from the conversation list.
Related Articles
- Overview of Shared Inboxes (Help Desk) — start with the current shared-inbox overview.
- Customizing Your Help Desk Navigation — customize your Inbox navigation.
- Understanding the Conversation List — use Table or Preview view and browse customers.
- Working Within a Conversation — respond and take action within a conversation.
